A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajpai – Why This Book is the Perfect Match For You!

A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajpai – Why This Book is the Perfect Match For You!

TITLE: A Match Made in Mehendi

AUTHOR: Nandini Bajpai

PAGE EXTENT: 320

PUBLISHER: Hachette India

GENRE: YA Contemporary

MY RATING: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

SOURCE: Received a finished paperback copy with some goodies from the author!

For fans of Eleanor & Park and When Dimple Met Rishi, comes a lighthearted novel about tradition, high school social hierarchy, matchmaking, and swiping right (or left!).

Fifteen-year-old Simran “Simi” Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole — matchmakers — with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a soon-to-be lawyer, her family is thrilled that she has the “gift.” 

But Simi is an artist, and she doesn’t want to have anything to do with relationships, helicopter parents, and family drama. That is, until she realizes this might be just the thing to improve her and her best friend Noah’s social status. Armed with her family’s ancient guide to finding love, Simi starts a matchmaking service-via an app, of course. 

But when she helps connect a wallflower of a girl with the star of the boys’ soccer team, she turns the high school hierarchy topsy-turvy, soon making herself public enemy number one.

“The root of family is love. The root of all love is friendship.”

This book was indeed a breath of fresh air! Do you happen to be in a stubborn reading slump that just doesn’t want to leave? Are you tired of dense fantasy reads and want to grab something light and breezy? Then this book is the perfect match for you! (Haha see what I did there? 👀😉)

Simi Sangha comes from a long line of “vicholes” or match-makers, but she has absolutely no interest in match-making whatsoever. Give her a set of paints, brushes, an easel and a canvas and she is good to go! When she accidentally ends up making a terrific match, her mom begins to assume she has the “gift” too. Reluctantly, with the help of her best buddy Noah and her tech-savvy brother Navdeep, she comes up with a match-making app to help people find their dates at her school! What follows is a fun-filled, frolicky tale of mehendi and crushes and hot boys and school wars and mouth-watering Indian food!

Simi’s idea of using colour-coded icons on the app was so cute I was super jealous I didn’t get to try out the app! I’m a sucker for great friendships in books and the camaraderie between Simi and Noah reminded me of some of my real-life friendships and I couldn’t help but smile!

Nandini Bajpai has managed to perfectly capture the Indian family dynamics in this book. Indian parents’ obsession with their kids taking up engineering, medicine or law was so dang relatable! This book also shows how Indian parents can sometimes involve themselves way too much in their children’s lives but again, we know that only comes from a place of concern. This can all be very doting and annoying at the same time and I’m still in the process of figuring out which one it is haha!

Simi is a stellar artist and wants to create a masterpiece around mehendi! Yes, you heard it right! Every time Simi drew temporary henna tattoos for her friends, I was going, “OHMYGOSH I NEED ONE OF THESE TOO!” I am pretty sure I’m going to try it out one day and y’all will be the first to see!

While being lighthearted and joyful, this book also highlighted issues such an bullying, outing and plagiarism and also showed us how all of these are so very wrong, by teaching the perpetrators a lesson they’ll never forget! 😤

So if you’re in the mood for a quick, cute read full of high school shenanigans and annoying Indian aunties and uncles and a cute romance(or maybe two), what are you waiting for? Pick this one up right away!

Have you read any Desi rom-coms that made you giggle into the night? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s